Endless April

Overwhelmed with May

I’d hoped

It would wait

Until I was ready

But there is no mercy

No cosmic bending

Goodbyes close in

Building dams in my eyes 

Catching in my throat

I watched her swell

Under my skin

Watched her fight

Past my body

Into her world

Watched her love

And loved her watching 

Now it is May

No space to stay small

No slowing her pace

And all that must fall away

Time to let go

Again

Time to watch her fight

Past a childhood too narrow 

To remain 

Time for May 

4 thoughts on “Endless April

Leave a Reply

